Love your garden and it will love you back !

It has been a few months since our last chat and I wish to confide that life for me during that time has been extremely fantastic. I have finally completed my 2nd year FdSc in Hort & Garden Design (1 left to go) and have busied myself through February to April sprucing up the Manor for the 3rd spring running. So if you have seen my previous blog you will know how much work was put in through the Winter months having the added back-up of a Polytunnel which has been extremely successful. I bought approx. 1200 plug plants wholesale and have managed to keep at least 70% alive !!! I am now being rewarded with the capacity to plant areas on mass for example 150 Lathyrus, 150 Dianthus, 150 Passiflora, 150 Delphinium… the list goes on. Antirrhinum, Monarda didyma, Anchusa, Verbena, Sweet Williams… HOW MUCH FUN NOW !!!! So much planting to do lol 🙂

Anyway here are some pics to get the wheelbarrow rolling…

1500 tulips planted in November

1500 tulips planted in November

More tulips

This was so worthwhile… my client was amazed to see it all the way from his bedroom window. Planting on mass gives great effect from a long distance

Daffs

We also planted 2000 daffodils this year on mass along a bank and a portion of flat ground behind it.

Fagus sylvatica 'Atropurpurea'

Fagus sylvatica ‘Atropurpurea’

 

I can assure you that even though it looks slanted it is merely the angle at which i took the shot 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The waterfall is always a delight in spring so here are a few pics…

 WATERFALL5 WATERFALL4 WATERFALL3  WATERFALL6

WATERFALL2A lot of time and effort was put in to the long sweeping border that is the Walled garden so named as it has a curved wall around the back. The major issue here is the 50ft conifers that drain the soil of resources however with careful plant selection the fullness we have been hoping for is finally coming together thanks to the mass planting of perennial Geraniums and Heuchera not to mention the previously planted (last year) Laurels and Photinia which help fill it out around the base of the trees. The laurels, Prunus laurocerasus have also had a flush of scented (cherry blossom) flowers which so many people miss due to early pruning with the dreaded hedge-mauler! The Mahonia are slowly returning to normal after being moved from the secret garden, we’ve added two Salix babylonica ‘Chrysocoma’ in a gap between 2 of the conifers, choosing this variety specifically as we have trouble with Willow anthracnose at the other end of the garden. (They allegedly have a better resistance to the disease. Anyway here are some pics of the Walled garden.

IMG_2070June2013 (58)

Amelanchier May2013 (38)

From a distance the impact is amazing. Here is what the border looked like this time 2 years ago…

AUG2011 (4) OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA SEP2011 (3)As a gardener I would highly recommend Heuchera at the moment !

Finally something I really don’t want you to miss ! Every year I painstakingly spend hours tying down Laburnum along the roof of a 70m long pergola. There are approximately 15 plants either side spread along the length which offer us a display of yellow chandeliers drooping through the ceiling of the pergola for about 2 weeks ! Is it worth it… what do you think… The wisteria’s and clematis also add to the effect as do some of the finest scented roses, yet I have to be honest the Laburnum is the focal point of this huge creation and although it only lasts 2 weeks it truly is stunning !

June2013 (90) June2013 (107) JUNE2013 PERGOLATo give you an idea of how long it is here’s a long distance shot from last autumn… Thats about 2/3rd of it !!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo before I leave you, although I haven’t cut the box hedge yet here is our parterre freshly planted with geraniums about 3 weeks ago… Hope you enjoyed the pictures, I will try to be back soon with some shots of the cut flower garden, the sweet peas, passion-flower, the peonies are amazing right now as well… Oh dear… wish I had more time… Bye for now

Thanks for your time,

The Lone Gardener

About The Lone Gardener

About me, well so much i could tell you ??? I am now in my late 30's having had up to now an interested and varied life. Started out my working life as a chef immediately after finishing school in 1990. This gave the opportunity to travel extensively between the ages of 19-30, working in a variety of european countries. A long period was spent in the Canary islands, Tenerife where I worked as a waiter in a golf resort. I have also lived in Spain, France, Switzerland, Scotland, and driven the width of America twice. This was my most memorable experience journeying from Orlando across Interstate-10 to San Diego, up Route 1 to San Francisco and then across to Death Valley, Las Vegas, Grand Canyon, through Little Rock and then back to Orlando via New Orleans. The whole journey (7500 miles) took 3 weeks and gave me the opportunity to achieve many dreams, watching the sun come up at the Grand Canyon was the best !!! (Will write a blog at a later date ??) I have now settled for a while to prepare for my future which has involved a total career change. I work as a self-employed gardener having set up my business 2 years ago in the height of recession. I recently finished college attaining an RHS Level II Certificate in Horticulture and have to be honest I have finally found something to do in life which is a passion rather than a chore. I have slowly built up my clientele and look after approx 15 small gardens, 2 commercial sites, and a 2 acre garden. I am really enjoying my work at the moment and encourage anyone who is not happy in their job to consider a change into the world of horticulture. The big plan is to eventually move to Spain or Portugal (ten years time) and continue working in a climate that is more akin to my sensitivity... I HATE THE COLD! I am also very interested in Buddhism, having read Bhagavad Gita. If you want to understand life you have to understand yourself and this book amongst others, helped me immensely in discovering that spiritual pleasure is much more satisfying than material gain, and it also gave me the insight necessary to make decisions about what is important. I have also done a course on Kundalini Yoga, which is a yoga designed to help the energy flow through the body and remove any blockages in the chakras. So here you see some of my main influences and these are some of the topics that i will be discussing and sharing on my blog site. I invite you to share and comment on any of my posts, sensible, intelligent advice is always warmly received. Thanks for your time, Love and happiness TLG
This entry was posted in Gardening, News, Plants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Love your garden and it will love you back !

  1. Richard Curthoys says:

    Paul, Simply amazing!

    Richard Curthoys Renewable Energy Adviser richardcurthoys@hotmail.co.uk 07896 786485 01923 675924

    3 + 1 = 1bn Referral Business for BNI Members in 2020 BNI UK & Ireland Team Values – we thrive by being… Honourable – Our word is our bond Passionate – Believe it, love it, live it Supportive – All for one, one for all, all of the time

    Date: Wed, 26 Jun 2013 15:48:29 +0000 To: richardcurthoys@hotmail.co.uk

  2. davljns73 says:

    Respect!
    I have trouble looking after a few square yards of moss and an overgrown rose bed – which is probably why I let Lisa do it.

Leave a Reply

