Hampton Court Flower Show 2011

This blog is a copy of a blog posted on growonyou.com/thelonegardener in 2011, a blog which I intend to close down, so will be copying them on to wordpress over the next few weeks. Growsonyou.com is a fantastic site for information but I decided its time to keep all my blogs together. In this blog there are some fantastic pictures !!!

Hope you enjoy it …

This was my first visit to Hampton Court, let alone the flower show. I work as a gardener and I am always on the look out for inspiration. Why have I not been here before…!!! The beds around the gardens on the way in were stunning. Interesting to note that large borders still maybe have only two different type of plants, reds and yellows or blues and whites were also very popular.

Sorry no pics of Hampton Court gardens, but I do have some pics of the floral marquee, I would like to add that I show these merely as a ‘tourist with a camera’, and I have no intention of claiming copyright on these pictures, and if anyone has issue please tell me and I will remove if/where necessary.

All these photo’s were taken in the floral marquee.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAReally big fan of heuchera’s, so many different varieties.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Below) Definitely going to order some of these wonderful Nemesias for the waterfall. They are so bright, i love em!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Above) I have ordered 48 chrysanthemum plants from this company. They really were the best quality, and so full of knowledge about their plants.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hope you enjoyed them, if you want to see pictures of the gardens the show is still on until Sunday, and I believe they get rid of a lot of the plants for next to nothing on Sunday afternoon ??? Good Luck TLG

About The Lone Gardener

About me, well so much i could tell you ??? I am now in my late 30's having had up to now an interested and varied life. Started out my working life as a chef immediately after finishing school in 1990. This gave the opportunity to travel extensively between the ages of 19-30, working in a variety of european countries. A long period was spent in the Canary islands, Tenerife where I worked as a waiter in a golf resort. I have also lived in Spain, France, Switzerland, Scotland, and driven the width of America twice. This was my most memorable experience journeying from Orlando across Interstate-10 to San Diego, up Route 1 to San Francisco and then across to Death Valley, Las Vegas, Grand Canyon, through Little Rock and then back to Orlando via New Orleans. The whole journey (7500 miles) took 3 weeks and gave me the opportunity to achieve many dreams, watching the sun come up at the Grand Canyon was the best !!! (Will write a blog at a later date ??) I have now settled for a while to prepare for my future which has involved a total career change. I work as a self-employed gardener having set up my business 2 years ago in the height of recession. I recently finished college attaining an RHS Level II Certificate in Horticulture and have to be honest I have finally found something to do in life which is a passion rather than a chore. I have slowly built up my clientele and look after approx 15 small gardens, 2 commercial sites, and a 2 acre garden. I am really enjoying my work at the moment and encourage anyone who is not happy in their job to consider a change into the world of horticulture. The big plan is to eventually move to Spain or Portugal (ten years time) and continue working in a climate that is more akin to my sensitivity... I HATE THE COLD! I am also very interested in Buddhism, having read Bhagavad Gita. If you want to understand life you have to understand yourself and this book amongst others, helped me immensely in discovering that spiritual pleasure is much more satisfying than material gain, and it also gave me the insight necessary to make decisions about what is important. I have also done a course on Kundalini Yoga, which is a yoga designed to help the energy flow through the body and remove any blockages in the chakras. So here you see some of my main influences and these are some of the topics that i will be discussing and sharing on my blog site. I invite you to share and comment on any of my posts, sensible, intelligent advice is always warmly received. Thanks for your time, Love and happiness TLG
This entry was posted in Gardening, Plants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment