Please help me save my Tree Fern !!!

Photo taken May 2010

It had just been moved into a new position not far from before (same soil) but it was receiving more light. Not once has it been allowed to dry out.

I have a Tree fern which I believe is Dicksonia antarctica.

I have had issues with this since September when i noticed canker, and a possible edema. I had treated the wound accordingly back then with Bordeaux mix (Copper) and also dug more sand and compost into the soil around the base of the trunk understanding the problem to be one of respiration. I also used a mix of armatillox and water to disinfect the soil.

August 2010

Since then, the tree has been covered over winter, and what was once an orange wound has now become a white scar ?!? Is this a sign that it is healing and that I should cut the infected part away now and re-disinfect, or does this look really bad and if all else fails cut the tree in half and stand a chance of saving it ???

Photo taken 24th January 2011


Any advice would be truly appreciated, its such a lovely tree, nearly 6ft tall !?!

I would be truly grateful for any advice that will help me save the tree, or at least half of it,

Many thanks,

ICB x

About The Lone Gardener

About me, well so much i could tell you ??? I am now in my late 30's having had up to now an interested and varied life. Started out my working life as a chef immediately after finishing school in 1990. This gave the opportunity to travel extensively between the ages of 19-30, working in a variety of european countries. A long period was spent in the Canary islands, Tenerife where I worked as a waiter in a golf resort. I have also lived in Spain, France, Switzerland, Scotland, and driven the width of America twice. This was my most memorable experience journeying from Orlando across Interstate-10 to San Diego, up Route 1 to San Francisco and then across to Death Valley, Las Vegas, Grand Canyon, through Little Rock and then back to Orlando via New Orleans. The whole journey (7500 miles) took 3 weeks and gave me the opportunity to achieve many dreams, watching the sun come up at the Grand Canyon was the best !!! (Will write a blog at a later date ??) I have now settled for a while to prepare for my future which has involved a total career change. I work as a self-employed gardener having set up my business 2 years ago in the height of recession. I recently finished college attaining an RHS Level II Certificate in Horticulture and have to be honest I have finally found something to do in life which is a passion rather than a chore. I have slowly built up my clientele and look after approx 15 small gardens, 2 commercial sites, and a 2 acre garden. I am really enjoying my work at the moment and encourage anyone who is not happy in their job to consider a change into the world of horticulture. The big plan is to eventually move to Spain or Portugal (ten years time) and continue working in a climate that is more akin to my sensitivity... I HATE THE COLD! I am also very interested in Buddhism, having read Bhagavad Gita. If you want to understand life you have to understand yourself and this book amongst others, helped me immensely in discovering that spiritual pleasure is much more satisfying than material gain, and it also gave me the insight necessary to make decisions about what is important. I have also done a course on Kundalini Yoga, which is a yoga designed to help the energy flow through the body and remove any blockages in the chakras. So here you see some of my main influences and these are some of the topics that i will be discussing and sharing on my blog site. I invite you to share and comment on any of my posts, sensible, intelligent advice is always warmly received. Thanks for your time, Love and happiness TLG
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Please help me save my Tree Fern !!!

  1. Roland says:

    Try placing a copper ring with the ends apart around the trunk – my mother used to revive plants in this way. Refer Georges Lakhovsky

  2. Megan says:

    Oh man that’s so sad! Put a post out on our facebook page for help. We don’t know a lot about keeping tree ferns happy. Looks like you’re doing everything you can. Here’s a wee bit of advice from a follower, “dont give up on it, you never know, if plants could only talk…” Hoping that Spring brings your baby better things!

Leave a Reply

